Our history



After spending several years living in London, working in the fashion industry, I was confronted "on the ground" with its harsh reality: fast-fashion, overproduction, excessive consumption of water and pesticides...
Awareness has increased amongst the industry, some brands stopped using fur for their coats, others implementing new processes for creating waterless jeans ... And I said to myself, what about eco-friendly swimwear?

Because I am convinced that every item of clothing in our dressing room should be made in an eco-responsible way!

Creating clothes yes, but being part of the solution and not the problem (fashion is the one of the most polluting industry in the world especially with its enormous water consumption and chemicals use)!
So I created Les Alcyonides Swimwear in September 2020, in order to offer you recycled fiber swimsuits in a circular economy logic, but with a fun and elegant design.

The green swimwear, not boring!
I hope you like them as much as I liked imagining them.
Orlanne, founder of Les Alcyonides Swimwear
Pssst: do you want to know where our name comes from? The Alcyonides are seven nymphs from Greek mythology. Desperate when their father, the giant Alcyonée was killed by Heracles, they threw themselves into the sea, and according to legend, gave birth to alcyons, more commonly known as kingfishers :) A nice myth between earth and sea , like our swimsuits!

Notre histoire



Après quelques années passées expatriée  à Londres, travaillant notamment dans l'industrie de la mode, j'ai été confrontée "sur le terrain" à sa dure réalité: fast-fashion, surproduction, consommation excessive d'eau et de pesticides...
La prise de conscience a été progressive, certaines marques arrêtant d'utiliser de la fourrure pour leur manteaux, d'autres implémentant de nouveaux processus de création de jeans sans eau... Et je me suis dit, et pourquoi pas des maillots de bain éco-responsables?

Car je suis convaincue que chaque vêtement dans notre dressing devrait être fabriqué de façon éco-responsable !

Créer des vêtements oui, mais en faisant partie de la solution et pas du problème (la mode est l'une des industries les plus polluantes, notamment par sa consommation excessive d'eau et de produits chimiques) !

J'ai donc créé Les Alcyonides Swimwear en septembre 2020, afin de vous proposer des maillots de bain en fibre recyclée dans une logique d'économie circulaire, mais au design fun et élégants.

Le maillot green, pas boring !
J'espère qu'ils vous plairont autant que cela m'a plu de les imaginer.
Orlanne, fondatrice de Les Alcyonides Swimwear
Pssst: vous voulez savoir d'où vient notre nom? Les Alcyonides sont sept nymphes de la mythologie grecque. Désespérées lorsque leur père, le géant Alcyonée a été tué par Héraclès, elles se sont jetées dans la mer, et selon la légende, ont donné naissance aux alcyons, plus communément appelés, les martin-pêcheurs :) Un joli mythe entre terre et mer, comme nos maillots!